Hail to the Fans … Superskin

20110908-012751.jpg

The 2011 NFL season gets underway tonight and to say we are a little excited is an understatement.

After the lockout and lack of football until you know July… I could not be more excited to get back into the swing of things.

Redskins Nation is a special type of fanbase. You will not find more knowledgeable, passionate, dedicated, and all around awesome fans anywhere else in the league.

In honor of this awesome family of Redskins fans, Son of Washington is excited to share what we think are some one of a kind fan gameday rituals.

Over the next few days we will be sharing our Hail to the Fans series highlighting what we think to be down right incredible looks at superfans we all know and love.

To get it started we chose everyone’s favorite Cowboy fighting superhero …

It’s a bird… It’s a plane.. It’s …SUPERSKIN!

While I go to sleep the night before a Redskins Home game as a “civilian”, I awake the following morning – Game Day – as “SuperSkin.” I don’t take out the trash. I don’t feed the dogs. I don’t mow the lawn. In fact, the only thing remotely mortal that I do is pop a couple of Pepto Bismol tablets to deal with the butterflies eating away at my stomach lining. Whether the team is 8-1 or 1-8, my emotional investment in this franchise – cultivated and reinforced since the age of 8 – makes me a nervous wreck. Fortunately, it all melts away as I make my descent into the Skins Cave.


Once there – surrounded by Burgundy and Gold and accompanied by the Diddy track “Hello, Good Mornin” (on continuous loop, of course) – the mission I accepted in the 1999 offseason comes back into focus – to turn FedEx Field into a hostile environment capable of affecting the outcome of the game. The transformation into SuperSkin begins with the suit of armor and the donning of the mask, and ends with the lacing up of my Super Shoes – shoes that will later carry me through countless pre-game tailgates, multiple laps within the stadium, and up and over rows of seats to high-five my 85,000-member “family.”

20110908-014222.jpgAfter a final whip of the cape, I emerge from the Skins Cave – tickets and parking pass in hand – and give a rushed kiss goodbye to the chick in the kitchen who claims to be wife.
Destination: Fortress FedEx.

 

Have a game day ritual you want to share hit us up in the comments section or on twitter @rd421

About Ray Smith

Ray Smith is the Head Writer and Senior Editor of www.sonofwashington.com as well as the Host of the SonOfWashington Podcast. Follow Ray on Twitter @SonOfWashington

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Truly an insperation

Leave a Reply

